I am reading Life Is Not A Stress Rehearsal by Loretta LaRoche. It is a good read. It reminds us that we only need to listen to our inner grandmother. For your grandmother knows how to handle stress.

Stress management is a modern day invention. This is why companies offer stress management seminars to employees to increase productivity. In my workshops, encourage participants to identify the real enemy. Stress is champion’s friend. Stress is necessary to be truly alive. Stress must be celebrated.

Of course, not everyone really believe at once. This is why I tell stories of stressful situations of “easily handled” by people who know.

Most people panic when there is fire. But you do not expect a fireman to panic too, do you? He must ready for that. Same situation; different mindset and capability. Those who do not know what to do see themselves as victims. Those who know what to do see themselves as problem solvers.

And this is how I handle myself. I can work under pressure because I know precisely that it is during such times that I must give my full attention to the job. The more that I feel the tension, the more that I feel that joy of making quick decisions.

Stress, or stressful situation, is a game, a game we can all play and win.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Heat is On.”

Leave a Reply

